Posted by: Mike Grenville | 10 June 2009

Oh lord, won’t you buy me…

circle song transition conference 2009
Oh lord, Won’t You Buy Me, A Composting Loo
If a conference dosn’t spark the creative juices to flow then what is it for you might ask? Well if that is the test then the 2009 Transition conference passed by inspiring this wonderful version of a wonderful song sung by everyone to round off the event.

Sung to the tune of Janis Joplin’s song Mercedez Benz here it is sung in all it’s glory at the conference thanks to Traydio : www.traydio.com

Oh lord, Won’t You Buy Me, A Composting Loo

Oh lord, won’t you buy me, a composting loo,
My friends all use flushers, not recycling their pooh,
Prove that you’re “eco”, a systems thinker too…
Oh lord, won’t you buy me, a composting loo

Oh lord, please don’t buy me, an electric car,
If the power that runs it, comes from nuclear,
With an EROI of less than one, it won’t get us very far,
Oh lord, please don’t buy me, an electric car

Oh lord, make Transition, creative and fun,
If we make a good start, who knows what it could become,
‘Cos the challenge is huge, we don’t know if it can be done,
Oh lord, make Transition, creative and fun

Oh lord, won’t you buy me, a composting loo,
My friends all use flushers, not recycling their pooh,
Prove that you’re “eco”, a systems thinker too…
Oh lord, won’t you buy me, a composting loo

Responses

  1. Suburbanite adds her two cents:

    Oh lord won’t you buy me a rabbit and hutch
    My homeowners association won’t let me do much
    I’d like to raise milk goats, chickens and such
    Oh lord won’t you buy me a rabbit and hutch

    Oh Lord won’t you buy me a solar array
    The design review board won’t approve it – but hey
    The grid is growing more costly each day
    Oh Lord won’t you buy me a solar array

    Oh Lord won’t you but me a clothes drying line
    It’s not allowed in this suburb of mine
    But my dryer’s too hot and the wind seems just fine
    Oh Lord won’t you buy me a clothes drying line

    Oh Lord won’t you buy me a family farm
    This suburban living is losing its charm
    Lower property values have caused me alarm
    Oh Lord won’t you buy me a family farm

  2. Thanks for some humour !!

  3. You might also like to try the following to the tune of “What a friend we have in Jesus”

    Grow a vegetable for Jesus:
    Carrot, cucumber and sprout,
    Cauliflower, bean and cabbage,
    You will never be without.

    Let your legumes grow and flourish,
    So that all the world may see.
    Christian care about the planet;
    Love your neighbour; plant a tree!

    ©Peter and Jane Hendra 2009


Leave a Reply

Categories

